Albaugh graduates leadership academy


UNION TOWNSHIP — The Ohio Township Association’s (OTA) annual conference recognized 25 graduates of the Leadership Academy Program (OTALA), an advanced local government training program. Dennis Albaugh, a trustee from Union Township in Miami County, received his diploma in front of thousands of peers from townships across the state at the OTA’s 2020 Winter Conference & Trade Show on Feb. 5-8.

The Ohio Township Association Leadership Academy (OT ALA) was created in 2001 to provide education to elected officials, staff, employees, and appointed individuals in Ohio townships. Through joint efforts of the Ohio Township Association, OSU Extension: Office of Community Development, and Miami University’s Center for Public Management and Regional Affairs, the OTALA program offers courses intended to enhance leadership and decision-making skills of those involved in Ohio township government.

“I learned important information such as: leadership skills, decision-making, team building and received detailed instruction on Ohio ethics law to help me better serve in my role as trustee,” Albaugh said.

In order to graduate from OT ALA, participants must attend the General Workshop, attend 6 of 10 elective courses, and take part in either the National Association of Towns and Townships (NATaT) Annual Conference, held each spring in Washington, D.C. or the OTA Federal Day Workshop held at the OTA offices in Blacklick, Ohio. All requirements must be met within three years of beginning the program.

The Ohio Township Association is a statewide organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of township government in Ohio. The OTA was founded on June 28, 1928 and is organized in 87 Ohio counties. OTA has more than 5,200 active members, made up of trustees and fiscal officers from Ohio’s 1,308 townships, and more than 4,000 associate members.

No posts to display