AMP announces scholarships for 2022 grads


For the Miami Valley Today

COLUMBUS — American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP), recently announced the availability of up to 10 $3,000 one-time scholarships available for graduating high school students in public power communities, including students in Piqua and Jackson Center.

Recipients will be announced in the spring for up to five Lyle B. Wright and up to five Richard H. Gorsuch scholarships. More than $408,000 has been presented to college-bound high school seniors by AMP since the scholarship programs began in 1988. The AMP Board of Trustees created the scholarship awards in honor of two distinguished leaders in public power history.

Lyle B. Wright was a long-time public power advocate and AMP board member from Bowling Green, Ohio. Lyle B. Wright Scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors whose households receive electricity from an AMP member municipal electric system.

Richard H. Gorsuch, a Westerville resident, was president/CEO of AMP from 1983-1987. Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors whose parents or guardians, or the students themselves are employed by an AMP member municipal electric system or by AMP.

Every AMP member system can nominate one student for each scholarship. Nominees must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale. Working with local school counselors, the municipal electric systems will make their nominations and forward them to AMP no later than Dec. 17, 2021.

Scholarship recipients are selected based on personal achievement, school/community activities, scholastic record, and knowledge of public power as demonstrated through a test.

To find out more about the AMP Scholarship Programs, visit

No posts to display