Covington Junior High School inducts Scholarship Club members


By Jordan Green

[email protected]

COVINGTON — Covington’s Junior High Scholarship Club recently inducted 39 new members.

The Scholarship Club is a way to recognize academic excellence in Covington schools. To be inducted, a student must have a minimum of a 3.6 GPA in their core classes. Core classes include English, math, reading, social studies, and science. If the criteria are met, students can be inducted in seventh or eighth grade depending on when they meet the criteria.

Members of the club are offered ways to serve their community by organizing events for fellow students. In addition, they attend Scholarship Club meetings and events and must maintain their GPA. The club has been hindered during the past few years due to COVID restrictions. But as restrictions ease, they expect to expand what their club does.

“We are eager to start new traditions this year,” said Club Advisor Adam Sweigart.

This year, new members were announced in a “guess who” style, where clues were released to the student body before the names were announced.

This year’s inductees are: Isabella Batdorf, Landon Beeman, Elijah Brooks, Henry Cantrell, Sierra Chappie, Maura DuBois, Danicka Finfrock, Ava Hartwig, Trenton Havenar, Samuel Helman, Caiden Hollingsworth, Parker Hoying, Cassidy Iddings, Emalyn Johnson, Lillian King, James Kuether, Sophia Lankford, Mary Larson, Brock Lyons, Brooke McDonough, Filip McMaken, Jordan Miller, Owen Miller, Regan Miller, Tyler Miller, Evan Moore, Stevilynn Newhouse, Kylie Palsgrove, David Pierce, Nadia Ramirez, Marissa Santos, Alison Sink, Philip Swabb, Timothy Taubert, Ramse Vanderhorst, Addison Ventura, Caiden Walters, Jackson Witt, and Samuel Wolfe.

No posts to display