Wrestling Roundup


MIAMISBURG — The Piqua wrestling team took fourth at seven-team Miamisburg Pool Tournament and Troy finished fifth.

Winning for Piqua was Max Kaye (132) and Gavin Nelson (126) finished second.

Kaye was 3-0 with two pins and Nelson was 4-1 with three pins.

Finishing fourth were Dylan Johnston (113) and Brady Mikolajewski (126).

Johnston had one pin and Mikolajewski had two pins.

Taking fifth were Andu Hollopeter (144), Dylan Varvel (150) and Jonathan Stavinnoha (285).

Hollopeter was 3-2 with two pins, Varvel had two pins and Stavinoha had one pin.

Finishing sixth were Jackson Lambert (150) and Parker James (285).

Winning for Troy was Danny Murray (175).

He was 4-1 with one pin.

Lillian Potter took second at 106 pounds and fifth at 113 pounds.

Also taking second were Xavier Poffenberger (165) and Joe Cusick (175).

Poffenberger was 2-2 with two pins and Cusick was 4-1 with three pins.

Finishing third were Gabe Cusick (157) and Owen Zickafoose (175).

Cusick was 3-1 with three pins and Zickafoose was 4-1 with four pins.

Julian Pulverini (157) took fifth and finishing sixth were Caleb Gray (126) and Nathan Wyatt (144).

Pulverini was 3-2 with three pins.

Buccs win

TRC meet

SIDNEY — Covington edged Troy Christian Saturday to win the inaugural Three Rivers Conference Championship.

Covington won with 147.5 points, Troy Christian was second with 143.5, Milton-Union was third with 140, Miami East was fourth with 135.5 and host Lehman Catholic took sixth with 20.

Individually, Covington crowned three champions — sophomores Jericho Quinter (113), Michael Hagan (120) and Hayden Barker (215).

Carson Taylor (106), Connor Sindelir (157), Izaiah Sherman (175) and Scott Blumenstock (285) all finished runner up in their respective weight classes.

Caleb Miller (150) and Jensen Wagoner (190) each finished third, while Aveyen Meek (138) took fourth.

Troy Christian was led by five championa.

Winning were Kyle Schroerr (106), Jason Shaffer (132), Troy Kennedy (138), David Stumpff (144) and Connor Havill (175).

Lee Burkett (190) took second.

Milton-Union had three champions.

Winning were Andrew Collins (126), Nathan Barker (150) and Colten Hulgren (190).

Finishing second were Payton Mayfield (120), Nicholas Devllin (132) and Ian Coffey (165).

Taking third were Nick Butler (106) and Trey Kiser (157).

Winning for Miami East were David Davis (157) and Hunter Randall (165).

Taking second were Layton Hughes (138), Chance Rust (144), Daniel Martin (150) and Mike Scherer (215).

Chris Smith (175) finished third and Aaron Mills (132) finished fourth.

For Lehman Catholic, Dylan Karns (157) and John Edwards (190) finished fourth.

No posts to display