Edison State students inducted into PTK Honor Society


For the Miami Valley Today

PIQUA — Seventy-nine new members were inducted into the Edison State Community College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) during a recent ceremony at the Piqua Campus. Each semester, students are invited to join the honor society based on academic criteria.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was established in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

In his statement to the candidates, Edison State Provost Chris Spradlin said, “It’s not too often that we get to celebrate the next step beyond success, and that is excellence. You all are representative of excellence here at Edison State. We thank you for your excellence and dedication.”

“We understand that you are special,” added Dr. Paul Heintz, Jr., Dean of Arts and Sciences at Edison State. “You do a lot of work. It’s difficult to get to a point where you can say you are part of an honor society. That’s not an easy task.”

Dr. Heintz then asked inductees to think about family members, friends, and others who have supported them along the way. “I always think it’s important to make sure you thank your family or whoever your support is, because they’re important.”

Each semester, the Student Leadership Committee selects a member of the Edison State faculty and staff to honor during the ceremony. This semester, Julie Slattery, Administrative Assistant, and Sandra Streitenberger, Associate Professor of Accounting and Business, were commended for providing outstanding service to the chapter.

Recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters.

For more information, email the Edison State chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at [email protected].

The following Phi Theta Kappa inductees include students from 2020 and 2021, who were unable to be recognized at the time as the College was not holding in-person events due to COVID. Edison State is proud to recognize these new inductees:

• Anna: Raina Brown, Jennifer Hickman, Abigail Pleiman

• Arcanum: Chloe Henninger, Erin Koerner

• Bellefontaine: Avery Moore, Derek Prickett

• Botkins: Hannah Ott

• Bradford: Sarah Hess, Jadyn Thacker

• Casstown: Ahlam Partee

• Christiansburg: Frankie Crabtree

• Covington: Betty Sanders

• Dayton: Kristen Rodrigues

• Fletcher: Laura Pottorf, Kaitlyn Roop

• Fort Loramie: Holly Middendorf

• Greenville: Elise Hays, Sarah Neighbors, Courtney Overton, Johnna Siegrist, Wanda Smith, Sharea Waddle, Mary Wood

• Houston: Melinda Hoffert, Kaylina McClenen

• Huber Heights: Jessica Bultman

• Jackson Center: Alex Glick, Ross Ludwig, Angelena Walker

• Mauldin, SC: Shaun Blake

• New Knoxville: Stacey Edwards

• New Madison: Laura Snyder

• Ottoville: Amanda Burnett

• Piqua: Emily Baker, Tabitha Caldwell, Victor Castaldo, Logan Cavender, Matthew DeFalco, Deanna Duffey, Alexis Lenninger, Abigail Vail

• Pleasant Hill: Gracyn Fairband

• Quincy: Kale Long, Aradia Roth-Carver

• Rossburg: August Evans, Rebekah Evans

• St. Paris: Mersedes Beasley

• Sidney: Tabatha Cooper, Lynsey Knepper, Sheri Koogler, Bailey Mantor, Nicole Minnick, Devan O’Connell, Kierstyn Oberdorf, Leah Pistone, Gabriel Reese, Javier Rivera

• Tipp City: Robin Blackstone, Ashley Cook, Kayla Runyon

• Troy: Logan Chaney, Adam Everett, Carol Hess, Latisha Jackson, Sophia Markley, Kaitlyn Misirian, Mackenzie Misirian, Kyle Pilkinton, Grace Williams

• Urbana: Debbie Council, Matthew Reed

• Wapakoneta: Tyler Swank, Alexander Wilson

• West Liberty: Alexis Mullen

• West Manchester: Tabitha Burig

• West Milton: Stephanie Beck, Amanda Ellis, Tara Mikel

No posts to display