Miami County law enforcement honored


By Sheryl Roadcap

[email protected]

TROY — Law enforcement officers from agencies around Miami County were honored at the ninth annual Law Enforcement Awards ceremony at the Arbogast Performing Arts Center (APAC) on Tuesday evening, April 2.

Sgt. Jeff Waite, president of the Miami County FOP Lodge No. 58, opened the ceremony, with prayers given by Chaplain Mark Plummer.

The presentation of awards were handed out by department. The evening of honoring county law enforcement officers began with Covington Police Chief Timothy Cline presenting Frank Campbell, Lee Harmon and Steve Blei with retirement recognitions, as well as Blei also being recognized as the 2023 Covington Police Officer of the Year.

Miami County 911 Interim Director Beth Hull next presented Amanda Tingler with the 2023 Telecommunicator of the Year award. Waite then presented Jack and Penny Hoekstra with an award of recognition.

Miami County Sheriff David Duchak handed out the 2023 Deputy of the Year award to Deputy Lisa Stanaford and Corections Officer Catilyn Brown with the 2023 Corrections Officer of the Year award.

He next presented the following with Sheriff’s Office Commendation awards: Corections Officers Kevin Queen, Aimee Cadle, Sgt. Amanda Cramer (two awards), Morgan Howard, Atlantis Smith (four awards), Catilyn Brown, Taesha Nix, Ethan Howell, Kelly Armentrout, Collin Stager, Rachel Moore, Shae Slusher, Christopher Abdon, Caleb Armentrout, Pat Lines, and also to Lt. Kenneth Welbaum, Deputy Micah Karn, Secretary Carol Foster, Capt. Michael Marion and Deputy Bonnie McMaken. Duchak also presented the following with Life Saving Awards: Corections Officers Aimee Cadle, James Burch, Ethan Howell, and Lt. Perry Gullette, Sgt. Ryan Carson, Sgt. Amanda Cramer and Dep. Seth Drake.

Deputies Dakota Brisset, Derek Stephenson and Shane McGlinch were given Office Citation Awards by Duchak.

Ohio State Highway Patrol Lt. Jeremy Allen presented Trooper Eric Devers with the 2023 Post and District Trooper of the Year and Dispatcher Jennifer Osborne with the 2023 Piqua Post Dispatcher Of the Year.

For the Piqua Police Department, Deputy Chief Dave Thomas handed out the police department’s 2023 Officer of the Year to Officer Michael Casey.

Tipp City Police Department Chief Greg Adkins presented Officer Seth Victor with the 2023 Officer of the Year. He also presented Det. Mike Morgan, Officer Seth Victor, Officer Luke Veldman, Sgt. Chris Graham, Officer Parrish Brazel, Officer Will Robert and Records Supervisor Susan Gostomsky Tipp City Police Deparment Performance Awards.

Troy Police Chief Shawn McKinney honored Officer Joseph Gates with Troy Police Department’s 2023 Officer of the Year. McKinney also handed out the Chief’s Commendation Medals to Officers Chad Chalfant, Cody Compton, Kyle Duchak, Austin Gibson, Dan Guillozet, Zach Hook, Brian O’Neal, Skylar Schipper and Tim Weaver. He also presented Chief’s Commendation Medals to Jeff Schultz and Scott Brewer, both of Troy City Schools.

For the West Milton Police Department, Sgt. Jason Stevens presented Officer Ben Davis with the 2023 Officer of the Year award.

No posts to display