Patrol graduates 41 troopers in a virtual graduation ceremony


COLUMBUS — The Ohio State Highway Patrol’s 168th Academy Class graduated Friday after 30 weeks of intense training. Director Thomas J. Stickrath, Ohio Department of Public Safety; and Col. Richard S. Fambro, Patrol superintendent, provided remarks. Judge David M. Gormley, Delaware County Court of Common Pleas, issued the oath of office.

Courses completed by the 168th class included crash investigation, criminal and traffic law, detection of impaired drivers, firearms, physical fitness, self-defense, and emergency vehicle operations.

Trooper Harry G. Baumgartner IV, Springfield Post, was selected as class speaker and thanked the academy and cadet family members for being supportive during their training.

Three graduates received special honors for top performance in various fields of study at the training academy. The honorees were: Overall performance – Trooper Shane D. Spieth, Fremont Post; Top performance in academics – Trooper Christian M. Reed, Marion Post; Top performance in driving – Trooper Thomas O. Casimir, Granville Post; Top performance in firearms – Trooper Lewis P. Marino, Medina Post; and Top performance in physical fitness – Trooper Xiaoxiang Ji, West Jefferson Post.

Each of the graduates reported to their posts on Sunday, Jan. 23, 2022. The graduates’ first 70 working days will be a field-training period under the guidance of a veteran officer. The new graduates are assigned to 24 of the Patrol’s 59 posts.

Graduates include Harry G. Baumgartner IV, of McDonald, assigned to Piqua District, Springfield Post; Dalton L. Chaffin, of Chillicothe, assigned to Piqua District, Springfield Post; Rickey A. Jenkins III, of Portsmouth, assigned to Piqua District, Springfield Post; Nickolas B. Myers, of New Vienna, assigned to Piqua District, Xenia Post; and Sabrina P. Schneider, of Leetonia, assigned to Piqua District, Dayton Post.

No posts to display