Prep Wrestling Roundup


TROY — It came down to Covington and Miami East for the title at the Troy Invitational wrestling tournament Saturday.

And in the end, just four points separated the two teams.

Covington won with 241 points, while Miami East was second with 237.

Piqua finished sixth with 108 points and Troy was eighth with 92 points.

Winning for Covington were Michael Hagen (120), Izaiah Sherman (175) and Jensen Wagoner (190).

Wagoner was 5-0 with five pins, Hagen was 4-0 with four pins and Sherman was 4-0 with three pins.

Carson Taylor (106) and Jericho Quinter (113) finished second.

Taylor was 3-1 with two pins and Quinter was 4-1 with two pins.

Caleb Miller (150) and Scott Blumenstock (285) finished third.

Miller was 3-1 with one pin and Blumenstock was 4-1 with two pins.

Connor Sindelir (157) finished fourth, going 2-2 with two pins.

Hayden Barker (215) was fifth, going 3-2 with two pins and Brian Morrison (126) finished sixth, going 2-3 with two pins.

Winning for Miami East were Cooper Shore (106), Max Shore (132) and David Davis (157).

Max Shore and Davis were both 5-0 with four pins, while Cooper Shore was 5-0 with two pins.

Taking second were Layton Hughes (138), Chance Rust (144), Daniel Martin (150), Hunter Randall (165) and Dustin Winner (285).

Hughes was 4-1 with one pin, Rust was 4-1 with three pins, Martin was 4-1 with four pins, Randall was 3-1 with three pins and Winner was 4-1 with four pins.

Aaron Mills (132) finished third, going 2-2 with one pin.

Andru Hollopeter (144) led Piqua, taking first.

He went 5-0 with four pins.

Gavin Nelson (126) took second, going 4-1 with two pins and Max Kaye (138) was third, going 4-1 with three pins.

Antonio Small (165) was 2-2 with two pins, Jonathan Stavinoha was 4-1 with four pins and Averi Wiley (106) was sixth, going 2-3 with two pins.

Landon Obaugh (126) took first for Troy.

He went 5-0 with five pins.

Taking third were Xavier Poffenbarger (157) and Tyler Plunkett (165).

Plunkett was 4-1 with four pins and Poffenbaarger was 3-1 with three pins.

Aaron Oates (132) and Danny Murray (175) finished sixth.

Murray was 3-3 with two pins and Oates was 1-3 with one pin.

MU wrestlers

finish second

WEST MILTON — The Milton-Union wrestling team finished second at the five-team Milton-Union Invitational with 223 points.

Nick Butler (106), Payton Mayfield (113), Andrew Combs (126), Nicolas Devlin (132) and Nathan Barker (150) all won.

Mayfield, Combs, Devlin and Barker all had perfect days, going 5-0 with five pins. Butler also pinned his way to the title, going 3-0 with three pins.

Zach Avery (138) finished second, going 3-1 with three pins.

Trey Kiser (157) was third, going 3-2 with three pins and Ian Coffey (165) was fourth, going 2-3 with two pins.

No posts to display